An Introduction to Investing


You work hard for your money, so you should get your money working hard for you.

There are many ways to invest. Choosing the right financial instruments depends on your stage of life, your risk threshold, and your personal financial goals. Effective investing strikes a balance between the potential return you want with the level of reasonable risk you are prepared to accept. Investing isn’t a gamble. It’s a matter of making informed decisions and carefully managing your money. Many investments are also based on compounding interest, so it’s important that you put your money to work as early as possible in order to make the most of it.

There are many investment options available and we recommended that you seek professional advice when considering your financial future. Connect with a Tradex advisor to customize a plan that will achieve your financial goals.


Cash and Equivalents

    Cash and equivalents include money in your bank account and “cash-like” investment options such as Canada savings bonds, treasury bills and money market funds. Your money is generally very safe in these options, and you have easy access to it, but the rates of return tend to be low.

    The Tradex Investment Savings Account is a good example of this type of investment. It’s a place to park your money for shorter terms, perhaps while you are investigating other options or saving for a short term objective.

Fixed Income Securities

    Fixed income securities are based on debt. When you buy a bond or another fixed income security, you are lending your money to a government or company for a certain period of time. In return, you receive the face value of the investment and interest at the end of the bond’s term.

    These options are generally low risk and provide a better rate of return than cash equivalents because you are taking some risk by lending out your money for a longer period of time.

    Fixed Income options through Tradex include Guaranteed Investment Certificates (GICs) and the Tradex Bond Fund.

Equities

    Stocks or “equities” are basically a stake in a business. When you purchase equity, you become part owner of the business you are investing in. Compared to fixed income securities, stocks can provide relatively high returns, but you are at risk of losing some or all of your investment.

    The long term returns realized from the various asset classes can vary significantly and are related to the risk.

    You can purchase stocks through our online brokerage service Qtrade Investor.

Mutual Funds

    A mutual fund is a collection of stocks and/or bonds. The fund is similar to a company that unites the contributions of many individuals and invests their money in a diversified portfolio of stocks, bonds and/or other securities. Each individual investor owns shares or units that represent a fraction of the total holdings of the fund. The majority of the income earned by the fund is distributed over the year to the fund’s unitholders. This income is generated by the holdings of the fund as its stocks and bonds provide dividends and interest. Usually the capital gain produced by sales of the fund’s securities is passed on to the investors as well. In some cases, individuals can recognize additional profit by selling their units in the event that the fund holdings have increased in price and the fund manager has not sold the assets already. In this last case, the investor loses any stake in further increase that the fund benefits from, as they have sold their units.

    By investing in mutual funds you get the huge benefit of professional management of your money. You also benefit from mutual funds through diversification. You are investing in units of a pool of many assets and, in theory, losses on a few of the assets in the pool are less likely to affect the value of your shares than if you had owned stocks directly in a falling asset.

risk-return-small

Closed-End vs Open-End Funds

Une introduction à l’investissement


Vous travaillez de façon ardue pour votre argent, donc votre argent devrait travailler de la même façon pour vous.

Il y a plusieurs moyens d’investir. Sélectionner les investissements sont basés sur vos objectifs financiers personnels. L’investissement de contrebalancer le rendement potentiel désiré et le montant de risque que vous croyez est acceptable. L’investissement n’est pas un jeu du hasard. Il est question de prendre des décisions informées et de la gestion prudente de votre argent. De plus, plusieurs investissements sont basées sur l’intérêt composée, donc il est important d’investir vos sommes le plutôt possible pour maximiser l’avantage de ce facteur.

Il existe de nombreuses options de placement et nous vous recommandons de consulter un conseiller professionnel lors de l’examen de votre avenir financier. Connectez-vous avec un conseiller Tradex pour personnaliser un plan qui permettra d’atteindre vos objectifs financiers.


Liquidités et équivalents

    Les liquidités et équivalents incluent la monnaie que vous tenez dans votre compte bancaire et des options d’investissement en ‘’espèces’’ comme les bons du trésor et les fonds du marché monétaire. Avec ces options, votre argent est généralement très surs. Vous pouvez disposer de vos sommes rapidement, cependant les taux de rendements sont moins élevés.

    Le Tradex Placement-Épargne est un bon exemple de ce type d’investissement. C’est un endroit pour « garer« des sommes que vous aurez besoin dans le court terme pour un objectif quelconque ou simplement pour déployer lorsque des opportunités se présenteront.

Titres à revenu fixe

    Ces investissements font affaire à la dette. Lorsque vous achetez une obligation ou un autres « titres à revenu fixe« vous êtes effectivement entrain de prêter votre argent à un gouvernement ou une entreprise quelconque pour une certaine période fixée. En échange, vous recevez la valeur nominale de votre investissement à la fin de l’échéance ainsi que de l’intérêt fixe à des dates déterminées.

    Ces options portent généralement des risques minimes et fournissent un rendement supérieur aux liquidités et équivalents car vous prenez du risque en prêtant vos sommes pour une plus longue durée.

    Des titres à revenu fixe fournies par Tradex inclus le Certificat de placement garanti (CPG) et le Tradex Fonds d’obligations.

Titres de participation

    Les actions sont simplement des titres de participation dans une société. Lorsque vous achetez une action, vous devenez propriétaire d’une part de l’entreprise en question. En comparaison avec les titres à revenu fixe, les actions peuvent apporter un rendement plus élevé pour l’investisseur, cependant vous risquez pendre une portion ou tout votre investissement.

    Les résultats à long terme réalisés par certaines catégories d’actifs peuvent variés significativement et sont reliés aux risques associées aux titres de participation.

    Vous pouvez accéder à l’achat d’actions par l’entremise du service de courtage en ligne de notre partenaire Qtrade Investor.

Fonds communs de placement

    Un fond commun de placement ou un fond mutuel est un regroupement de placement d’actions et/ou d’obligations. Le fond est semblable à une entreprise qui prend les contributions de plusieurs membres et investis leurs argents dans un portefeuille diversifié d’action, d’obligation et/ou d’autres placements. Chaque investisseur individuel est propriétaire d’actions ou des parts du fonds, représentant une proportion de l’actif total du fonds. La plupart du revenu gagné par le fonds est distribué à travers les années aux détenteurs de parts. Ce revenu est généré par les avoirs du fonds, car les actions et les obligations fournissent des dividendes et de l’intérêt. De façon générale, les gains en capitales produites par la vente d’un avoir du fonds est aussi passé à l’investisseur. Selon le cas, un individu peut réaliser un gain additionnel s’il vend ses parts qui ont apprécié en valeur et si le gestionnaire n’a pas encore vendu les avoirs du fonds. Cependant, l’investisseur ne bénéficiera plus des gains futurs du fonds car il a vendu ses parts.

    L’avantage principal d’un investissement dans un fond commun de placement est la gestion de votre argent par un professionnel. Vous bénéficiez aussi de la diversification fournit par le fond. Vous investissez dans un portefeuille d’action et en théorie, des pertes sur quelques avoirs dans le portefeuille aura moins d’incidence sur la valeur total de vos parts que d’être propriétaire unique des actions qui ont fléchi.

risk-return-small